Nov. 16, 2020

HARRISBURG – State Reps. Carl Walker Metzgar (R-Somerset/Bedford) and Jesse Topper (R-Bedford/Franklin/Fulton) and Sen. Wayne Langerholc (R-Bedford/Cambria/Clearfield) today announced that school districts in Bedford County have been awarded $103,581 in Safe Schools Target Grants, administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE). Grants are awarded to schools to prevent and reduce violent incidents, to purchase safety and security-related equipment, and to provide for the training and compensation of school resource and police officers.

“Our children and teachers deserve a safe environment in which they can instruct and learn to their full potential,” said Metzgar. “I’m very happy to see Pennsylvania prioritize school safety and security. These grants will go a long way in ensuring that our schools remain safe for all.”

The following schools in Bedford County received funds:

• Chestnut Ridge School District - $64,999.
• Hope for Hyndman Charter School - $23,841.
• Bedford County Technical Center - $14,741.

“As the Chairman of the Senate Education Committee and a member of the School Safety and Security Committee, the safety of our children is paramount and I am pleased to announce these vital grant dollars to our local school districts,” added Langerholc. “It shows a bipartisan commitment to our youth in these unpredictable and uncertain times.”

More than $9 million total will be awarded to Pennsylvania schools through the program this year. PDE’s program is separate from the School Safety and Security Grant program administered by the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency.

“It’s no secret that children learn, and teachers teach, at their highest potential when they are in a comfortable environment,” said Topper. “These added security measures will help students and teachers feel safer and more comfortable allowing them to do their jobs to the best of their abilities.”

Representative Carl Walker Metzgar
69th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Kevin DiGuiseppe