Metzgar, Topper Named Deputy Whips for the 2019-20 Session
HARRISBURG – State Reps. Carl Walker Metzgar (R-Bedford/Somerset) and Jesse Topper (R-Bedford/Franklin/Fulton) have been appointed by Majority Whip Rep. Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin) to serve as Deputy whips during the 2019-20 session.

“Because of their dedication and diligence, Reps. Metzgar and Topper have proven themselves to be influential leaders within the halls of the House of Representatives,” Benninghoff said. “Both are well-versed in the issues facing Pennsylvania and highly respected by their colleagues. As deputy whips, they will help to advance important, and often complex, pieces of legislation. I am grateful to serve alongside of them.”

Deputy whips have diverse tasks, including ensuring members attend session, whipping up support for key pieces of legislation and informing their fellow Republican colleagues on upcoming policy issues.

Representative Carl Walker Metzgar
69th District
Representative Jesse Topper
78th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Greg Gross